SmugMug!!

I love SmugMug! I am almost Flickr free!

As mentioned before, I am leaving Flickr due to my distaste for Yahoo, Flickr’s parent company. I’ve been searching for the right image host for my photos. For a while I thought I was going to have to host all the photos myself. Finally, I found SmugMug.

SmugMug is an image host, similar to Flickr in many ways, but better, in my opinion. For one thing, the background pages are all black, which works better with the photos. Secondly, and most important, SmugMug is a small family-run company. And they have amazing customer service. Last week I signed up for a free 14 day trial. (It is not a free image host.) Yesterday, customer service sent me an email to inquire how the trial was going. One of the reasons that I considered SmugMug is that they offer a handy import tool called SmuggLr, to move Flickr photos (with tags, descriptions, etc.) over to their service. I was having some problems getting it to work, however, so I replied to their email saying I would like some help. Within 10 minutes I received a reply, telling me that the import tool developer would be happy to help me. Within 20 minutes, all of my photos and details were transferred over. No stress. I immediately paid for a year of service.

Now comes the hard work of changing all the photo URLs for the last two years worth of posts! I hope that within the next month I can terminate my Flickr account! You can now view my photo albums at Global Gal’s SmugMug.

2 Responses to “SmugMug!!”

  1. June Says:

    I use smugmug and have been very happy. I too like the black background they have and I like its “clean” look. Flickr looks a little too busy for my taste. Smugmug’s not perfect, but it’s the best I could find out there. I popped over to your albums, but I can see I’ll need to come back to look when I have more time. Looking forward to it.

    http://www.bydamanti.smugmug.com

  2. One Love Photo Says:

    I love Smugmug! I have a pro account and was able to customize my pages to look like my own website! You can’t beat the customer service! I tried out Pictage for my hosting for my wedding clients but Smugmug gives such better customer service! Cheers to good service-it is so difficult to find these days! Nice photos on your site by the way!

Comments are closed.


