Kao Di Gua

DSCN2380.JPG

Baked sweet potato vendor
Linyi, China

More Wordless Wednesday here.

13 Responses to “Kao Di Gua”

  1. Ann Says:

    Neat. I’ve never had a baked sweet potato but I’d try one of these. They are supposed to be very good for you. Happy WW!

  2. Natalie Says:

    I love baked sweet potatoes! Mmmmmmm!

    My Wordless Wednesday post is up too! 🙂

  3. Melanie aka lilknitter Says:

    Nice photo…making me hungry. Baked sweet potato is yummy!
    Happy WW!

  4. Carmi Says:

    Beautiful picture. Reminds me of the street vendors I encountered when I was in Shanghai a few months back.

    Hope you have a wonderful WW. I’ve posted my contribution here and hope you drop by for a look around:

    http://writteninc.blogspot.com/2007/12/wordless-wednesday-push-envelope.html

    All the best…

    Carmi

  5. dallas meow Says:

    YUM!
    I lovee baked sweet potatoes!

  6. liza Says:

    ohhh yummy! i missed eating one of those.. 😉 Mine is up too

  7. Shabem Says:

    Wow so interesting! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Shelia Says:

    What a wonderful slice of culture! Happy WW! 🙂

  9. Mom of one curly-haired 'lil girl Says:

    Yummy!

    In my country, they sell it near Bandung West Java…it is very sweet…it tastes just like honey

  10. D. Renee Bagby Says:

    We need one of these guys stateside. 🙂

    Happy WW!

  11. cdv1971 Says:

    What a great shot and a tasty idea! Hello from a fellow expat. All the best.

  12. Miscel Says:

    I use to buy these from guys using a 55 gallon oil drum for roasting. The smell was heavenly.

    You can do this at home in your oven. It’s easy. It just takes time. The real trick is to leave your sweet potatoes out to dry for a month. Don’t put it in your fridge. And bake it at 300F till done. Remember to put a pan underneath to catch the dripping – it is pure sugar.

    Oh, the small yellow ones are better than the big red ones. Dryer and sweeter.

  13. global gal Says:

    Wow! Thanks everyone for commenting! Visiting blogspot blogs is sometimes difficult here in China. I’ve tried to leave comments on some of your blogs, others I have not been able to!

    Miscel – thanks for the tip, if I had an oven, I’d try it! 😉

Comments are closed.


