Linyi and Yi He Riverside Park

One of the things I love about China is that every time you leave your house, you will see something new and different. Just when you think you’ve seen it all, China reminds me you have not seen anything.

Linyi is a river city. The name Linyi means (and maybe Kunzilla can correct me if I am wrong here!!) “Close to the Yi.” Yi is the name of the river here.

One of the best features of Linyi is the landscaping that lines the banks of the river along its course through the city. There are bike and walking paths, benches, fountains, exercise areas, lots of trees and plants and spots for fishing (although the fishing is very poor.)

DSCN2366.JPG DSCN2364.JPG

This weekend the DH and I rode our bikes along the trails down river. I learned a lot of things on this trip, the most important thing being Chinese bicycle seats are not made for trips over 15 minutes. I also learned that on a certain, secluded stretch of our road, old men sit under the trees chatting with each other while their caged birds also chat with each other. I learned that the old bicycle repair man doesn’t charge anything for airing up your tires. I learned that we are still celebrities in our neighborhood, and even more so when riding bicycles.

I learned that the city has built large new tennis courts along the river, but there doesn’t seem to be a way inside of them. I learned that Linyi has the world’s largest rubber dam. (That has not been verified conclusively, but I say let Linyi have the achievement!!)

DSCN2355.JPG

Linyi’s Rubber Dam (that cylindrical concrete looking thing)

I learned not to ride your bicycle along a river with your mouth open. (gnats. not pleasant.) I learned that at times the bike path is made of yellow brick. I learned that parts of the bike path are obstructed by this very badly placed house…

DSCN2357.JPG

DSCN2358.JPG

House built right on top of the path. ?

Linyi Photos from http://www.linyi.gov.cn

Linyi Boats.jpg

Linyi Park.jpg

I also learned that Linyi – a city of somewhere between three and seven million people – can be peaceful and calm. On the banks of the river there is an escape.

