Real Live Pirates

I missed International Talk Like a Pirate Day. And I’m really sad about that. The DH will tell you it is for the better, because he has heard me try to talk like a pirate.

Despite not honoring their special day, I am actually fascinated by pirates. Who isn’t after Mr. Depp brought his special touch to the genre. (I read somewhere that the Chinese government was not pleased with the third Pirates of the Caribbean movie and actually cut some scenes out because they thought that Chow Yun-Fat played up Chinese stereotypes that they would rather the world forget about. No clue where I read this, though.)

Pirates are on my mind because I’ve been reading National Geographic online again. This month they are featuring an article on the modern pirates of the straits of Malacca, the narrow shipping channel between Malaysia and Indonesia where millions of dollars worth of cargo travels each day. Great reading.

I’m infinitely tickled at saying “Malacca” ever since I visited the city last year and later found out malaka is a nasty word in Greek.

2 Responses to “Real Live Pirates”

  1. kunzilla Says:

    I wonder, can we call those people who manufacture pirated goods pirates? But somehow I don’t want to see them in jail because if they are inprisoned, where would us get cheap goods? lol.

    As for the movie, I guess they cut out the part where Chow, Yun-fat reads the ancinet chinese poem to Elizabeth Swan, on the ship. I found it pretty unnecessary because only people who speak Cantonese and grow up in China can understand him. To others, it’s just a bunch of jibberish.

  2. global gal Says:

    Thanks for the info on the Chow, Yun-fat business. I had a really bad copy of the movie. (ahem, yes, it was a pirated copy) I don’t really remember that part very well, but it could be there was someone getting up from his seat to get popcorn and I was distracted by his image on the DVD.

Comments are closed.


