Flying

I don’t blog very much about work here in China. I’m not sure why, other than the fact that for the most part my work is monotonous and boring. However, we are experiencing interesting times right now – working for the second private flight school in China as it begins its flight operations. I think I will write more about what it is like to teach students basic aviation vocabulary and watch them as they learn more theory, practice in the flight simulators and finally, begin flying.

Today that is not my concern, though. For the last few days, the DH has been up flying several times.

DSCN1991.JPG

 This is my view of the aircraft hangar and ramp area, from my office window. Here the DH and a FI are waiting for the taxi clearance from the control tower. I am not really afraid when the DH goes flying. I don’t really think about it too much, to be honest. It’s just what he does – and what he loves. And what he does really well. I know that he is highly capable, so I just don’t worry.

I did, however, hold my breath slightly as the airplane began its ground roll and lifted off down the runway.

DSCN1995.JPG

Here they are taxiing on to the runway. And in case you are wondering, they are flying a 1996 Cessna 172R – a single-engine piston aircraft long used for flight training and recreational flying. (In other words – dependable, proven and safe)

Look for more posts on life at a Chinese flight academy…

