What I’m…

Reading:

  • Michel Foucault’s The Birth of the Clinic
    • For one of my medical library classes. This is some tough reading. Has anyone out there read Foucault? He was a French philosopher writing in the 1970s to early 80s. I am going to be reading this one a few times.
  • Laurie Garrett’s The Coming Plague
    • Possibly one of my favorite books. At 750 pages, it is quite a read. I’m reading this one for the third time for another medical library class. We are looking at how health care information needs evolve over time – especially due to emerging infections and epidemics. I’ll be writing my term paper on how information needs and health care were affected by the SARS epidemic – something that I observed first hand while working in Toronto.
  • I haven’t had a lot of time for pleasure reading, but I recently purchased some audiobooks I hope to listen to on breaks from school reading:
    • The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri (author of Interpreter of Maladies – excellent read)
    • The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien – Vietnam War stories
    • The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson – Cholera in Victorian England

Watching:

  • The Academy Award winning documentary Born into Brothels
    • An incredibly moving look at the lives of children born to prostitutes in the red light district of Calcutta. An American photographer who was there to photograph the women became interested in the children and started a weekly photography class. The children are wise beyond their years and take incredible photos. See the website, Kids with Cameras for more.
4 Responses to “What I’m…”

  1. Preya Says:

    Born into Brothels shook me to the core. I was born in Calcutta…into a completely different family situation, and it’s hard to fathom the kinds of lives these women are born into and must endure.

  2. Marty Says:

    Hello from an out of work therapist in Illinois – still in shock from returning from France 2 weeks ago. Wondering what online courses you are taking – through what school – and what are your plans for the schooling?
    Looks like you have some heavy reading assigned – good luck!
    I enrolled in some business courses, and am considering starting my own company, now that my France way-of-life is over. Any words of wisdom?
    Autumn is beginning here, also – cooler nights, less humidity, and pumpkins at the farmer’s markets…
    Marty

  3. global gal Says:

    Hi Marty! When you wrote “pumpkins at the farmer’s markets” I suddenly had a huge pang of homesickness… Which hardly ever happens! I love Autumn and especially the sight of pumpkins and squashes in the markets. Thanks for bringing that image to my mind!

    I am doing my Masters in Library Science entirely online from Texas Woman’s University. The courses are all library related. I am so amazed by the variety of programs and courses now available via the Internet. I worked as a nurse for 5 years, and although I liked helping people, I decided it was not the job for me forever. Once I complete my library degree, I hope to combine my nursing experience with library science and become a medical librarian. This means I would work in a hospital library, medical school or other health care setting. I would provide information to physicians and health care workers (therapists, too) and also consumer health information to patients and community residents. Of course, my way of life has become a “one day at a time” philosophy so I really don’t have a long-term plan.

    I imagine that it must be a little difficult to return to life exactly as it was “before France.” I know after leaving Spain, which has a similar lifestyle to France, I made quite a few changes in my lifestyle and outlook. Starting a business sounds like a great idea. I like the idea of being one’s own boss.

    I’m glad you have decided to continue your blog. I hope you will share stories of your experiences in the US along with those of France. While your town may not seem as interesting to you as France, (or maybe it is!) I would love to hear your comments and voice! Now that I have been out of the US for a few years, I love to hear about the American way of life.

  4. global gal Says:

    Preya – thanks for visiting my blog! I will admit I cried several times during the documentary. That’s why I love documentaries, because we can see a bit of life we would never normally see. I visited the Kids with Cameras website and read an update on the Calcutta kids. I was pleased to see that they are doing well, and as far as I could tell, none of the girls were forced into prostitution. Makes me realize just how well off I am. (Along with the Global Rich List, it is all very sobering.) And…ashamed that I haven’t done more to help my fellow man…

Comments are closed.


