Ribbet-Ribbet or Gua-Gua

I’ve just come from my upstairs balcony, where I spent the last 15 minutes listening to the sounds of thousands of frogs who are sublimely happy with all the rain we’ve been getting.

I wasn’t happy about the rain today, as I sat inside the apartment, enduring power cuts every 10 minutes or so. I wanted to go shopping. We needed food! Finally, I couldn’t stand it anymore, so I grabbed my umbrella and out I went.

This is what confronted me.

DSCN1801.JPG

That’s the entrance to the little dirt road that leads to our apartment complex. You can see that it is completely underwater. I HAD to get to the main road, in order to grab a taxi. So, yes, I waded through that mucky water. I don’t even want to think about what is swimming in that water. Let’s just say sanitation in our neighborhood could use some improvement.

Many of the small roads and lanes in our neighborhood were underwater. The “urban” sector of Linyi, across the river, didn’t seem to experience the flooding like we did. I guess that is why the urbanites call us rural.

DSCN1822.JPG

DSCN1804.JPG

DSCN1805.JPG

This morning I complained about the rain, but once I finally got out of the house, it didn’t bother me a bit. In fact, it let me feel like I was back in a tropical city, like Kuala Lumpur or San Jose. The air was humid and hot, but a light breeze kept it cool. The kids were all out in the streets, splashing around as much as their mothers would let them. Girls were walking along in their high heel shoes and umbrellas, oblivious to the conditions. The rumbling thunder and dark skies gave way to drizzle and soft light. Despite the dampness, there were still plenty of people in the street. And that is the thing I love about a tropical city – a raincloud can’t stop life from happening.

I don’t think we have seen the last of the rain – I’m sure we’ll be seeing the remnants of Sepat soon.

**Gua-Gua is the sound a frog makes in China. Not sure if that is spelled correctly, though.

