Kid Cuisine?

Note that I am not a parent, so maybe I don’t have the right to judge, but I think this article is incredible, and should be read by everyone who has kids. Because kids cannot live by chicken fingers and pizza and french fries alone. This is not how I was raised, how about you?

Don’t Point That Menu at My Child, Please

4 Responses to “Kid Cuisine?”

  1. Jon Says:

    Of my two kids, my daughter (the younger of the two) will eat just about anything we put in front of her and enjoy it. My son was like that until about a year ago when he suddenly became fickle about what he eats. Getting him to eat anything we want him to is like pulling teeth. **shrug**

  2. Sandra Says:

    I certainly fall into the catagory of parent who “eats out” for pleasure and wants my children to be happy…even if it only lasts five minutes.
    Here is another food thing only a kid will do – 4 year old takes a bite of hummus…mmm that’s good…won’t take another bite. Go figure.

  3. global gal Says:

    I really want to emphasize here that I am not judging any parent here. I am certainly aware that it can be hard to get kids to eat. I recall that when I was in elementary school, I went through a period where I would only eat Oscar Mayer beef hot dogs, the kind with the processed cheese already inside the dog.

    I just find it kind of surprising that some kids – and I know both commenters, and I am really certain that this DOES NOT apply to either of them – eat chicken nuggets for the majority of their meals. And that is okay if it is a phase. I understand that kids go through those kinds of phases, but I’m referring to kids who never get taught that maybe eating chicken nuggets for every meal is not the way you want to feed your body for the rest of your life.

    Sandra – I miss eating out with you! I think your kids definitely have good eating habits. They are normal! I am referring in my post to parents who really don’t give much thought to what their kids eat.

  4. Jon Says:

    Oh I didn’t think you were judging anything. I’m with you all the way. I was just bemoaning the fact that my son is a very picky eater. (Then I remember the kind of trouble my mother had trying to make me eat and then I smiel and don’t worry about it so much – I turned out ok, right?)

Comments are closed.


