Flickr Photo Sets

I now have all of our recent vacation photos, good and bad, uploaded to Flickr.

To see photos of Lhasa & Tibet click here.

To see photos of the train ride from Chengdu to Lhasa click here.

To see photos of Chengdu click here. (This set does not include photos of Sim’s Guesthouse, which I will be uploading later.)

Remember – I am not very skilled with a camera! Also, many of the photos have titles and descriptions, but others do not. I hope to update them all with descriptions, but I was a bit lazy. (Especially the Chengdu photos.)

Enjoy! Have a great weekend!

2 Responses to “Flickr Photo Sets”

  1. zetty Says:

    hello..am hailing from japan…DH and I are planning to venture on to Lhasa this April. really enjoyed your description of Tibet..
    is it true that the trains are fully booked? where would you recommend us to purchase our tickets..? how long will we be able to get the Tibetan Pass? coz we’ll be flying into Beijing or Xian..need to calculate the days…will 4-5days be enough to experience Lhasa?
    thanx…

    zetty from tokyo..

  2. global gal Says:

    Hi Zetty,

    Thanks for commenting on the description! You will enjoy Tibet and from what I hear, April is a good time to visit.

    I am not too sure if the trains will be booked full in April. I think that summer is really the high season, so in April there will probably still be less people. I arranged for my permits & train tickets through a guesthouse in Chengdu. It takes a few days to get the permit, maybe up to 4, and train tickets can be bought up to 10 days in advance. I know that there are guesthouse travel agencies in Beijing (Leo’s Hostel is one http://www.leohostel.com/ ), and probably in Xian, that will take care of this for you. If you want to arrange it all from outside of China, you will have to email your passport information and make a bank wire transfer to pay for deposits. If you want to arrange it once you are in Beijing or Xian, remember it will take at least 4 days. The price of the permit varies depending on the agency. I paid 450 RMB for each permit.
    The best place to go to get up to date information on this is at Lonely Planet’s Thorn Tree Forum. Search on the China Branch or go directly to the Tibet Branch. The people there really know their facts! http://thorntree.lonelyplanet.com

    I think that 4 to 5 days is enough to see Lhasa and a few monasteries that are close by. However, if you want to see more of Tibet and travel to Mt. Everest Base Camp and other monasteries, you will need more time. For Lhasa & surrounding areas alone, 5 days is enough.

    Cheers!

Comments are closed.


