Happy Thanksgiving America!

Once again I nearly forgot about this one. I couldn’t figure out why no one was emailing today. As you can imagine, Thanksgiving turkey, stuffing & gravy is pretty hard to come by in rural China and even more difficult to recreate in a hotel room. I did have my lunch today with some of the other company employees. We ate rice, boiled peanuts, some kind of bean and shredded potatoes. Not a bad way to spend the day.

I taught my first Radio Telephony class today, which was interesting. I tried to sound as authoritative as possible even though my only real experience with aircraft radio exchanges is the 30 times I’ve seen Top Gun. I think it went okay. I have 34 students. They are all Chinese, in their 20s. They have all graduated from University and I am lucky that their English level is pretty good. Teaching is a little difficult for me because I am a very introverted person, but once I am in front of the room it is like I am onstage. And I’m one of those introverts who LOVES to be on a stage acting. Strange but true. If my mom were here blogging I’m sure she would share an embarrassing story about my overly dramatic tendencies.

3 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving America!”

  1. superkimbo Says:

    We ended up having quite a non-traditional Thanksgiving dinner here (in Malaysia) too – we went out for Indian (as in India, not Native American) food. Just as delicious as far as I’m concerned 🙂

    I’m so interested in your job. How did you end up teaching aviation technology to the Chinese – I’m sure this is somewhere in your archives but I had to ask!

  2. global gal Says:

    How did we end up in China teaching Aviation Technology? Good question! As you know, the Chinese economy is growing – true of much of South Asia, India included. With that growth has come the need for more and more airplanes – now that more people can afford to fly. China needs about 10,000 pilots to meet the growing need in the next 10 years. So, we saw an ad on an Internet aviation job site and thought – why not? Could be interesting. And here we are. Because China does not have a lot of pilots and flight instructors (traditionally pilots have been trained in the military and one public university) they have turned to the West to bring in foreign experts to train Chinese students to fly as first officers in the airlines. This is also happening in India. Believe it or not, there is also good aviation training growth in Malaysia, too. (We visited 2 schools there last May and we know of at least 1 more opening soon.)

    I fell into the role of Aviation English teacher simply because I speak English! Since the DH is a flight instructor and I came along to see what I could do, I quickly started learning about aviation myself.

  3. retro Says:

    This year my wife decided to have a dry run thanksgiving day to test out her recipes. We soaked the bird in a brine solution she got at William Sonoma, it really kept it moist. OMG, the turkey was so good and I get to do it again in a few days!

Comments are closed.


