Shower From Hell

I know that I just signed off for the weekend, but I’ve just had a shower from hell and I wanted to share the experience with all of you Westerners who luxuriate in beautiful, functioning plumbing everyday. I don’t know if this is typical of Chinese showers, but it is way too common here at the Airport Hotel.

As soon as I turned the water on, the bathroom immediately filled up with so much steam I felt like I was in a fairy tale somewhere in an enchanted forest. Groping for the shower handle, I turned it over to the cold section, only to find that the water was still scalding hot. Turning more to the cold, the water stayed hot. More turning – still hot. Then, suddenly, ice cold. Back to the hot section, about an inch – scalding hot. Back to the cold, a few centimeters – ice cold. Back to the hot a centimeter – scalding hot. Back to cold a nanometer – ice cold. Out of the blue without touching anything – perfect temperature. Great. Get in, suds up, wash hair. In the midst of a rinse – scalding hot water. No matter where I turn the control – scalding hot water. I must have gone through at least 3 or 4 of the ice cold – scalding hot – lukewarm cycles. Is there some crazy Chinese guy downstairs by the hot water control just randomly turning it? Laughing at how all the crazy foreigners are yelling and screaming and jumping around in their showers?

I guess I shouldn’t complain too much seeing as how a few months ago we barely had hot water at all. You could never get any at all before 11PM unless a Russian flight crew happened to have landed and come to stay at the hotel. But you know what, I’m complaining!

