Dog, No Longer Just Man’s Best Friend

Warning! PETA members, animal fanatics and the overly sensitive may not wish to read any further…

I’ve just heard some rather distressing news. It seems that “dog season” will soon be upon us, and no, I do not mean that it is time to buy a new pet dog or the time to take your pet dog out for a walk. What I mean is that dog will soon be a menu choice at many of the restaurants around here. I really don’t feel very happy about dog season. I understand that here in this part of the world, it is just another meat, as is donkey, but I just can’t come to terms with it. From what I’ve seen and heard, the preferred breed for eating is German Shepard. I know, it just seems so wrong. Gives new meaning to “Chocolate Labrador” doesn’t it? Now, don’t get too freaked out, many Chinese do keep dogs as pets, particularly the small Pekingese and the Cocker Spaniel variety.

The saying goes “When in Rome…,” but I think I will pass on this one, as I have done with the donkey, I will never be that Roman.

