Miscellaneous Afternoon Thoughts

WOW, my office this morning is freezing. I don’t know how I am going to concentrate on lessons when all my energy is taken up in shivering. There is no AC control that I can find, so I am just gonna have to suffer it out. The good news is that I am feeling better. Whatever sort of bug I had, I guess I got rid of him. However, bad news for DH. He says that for about two days now he has felt some sort of “little smurf” or “little man” inside his stomach, trying to kick his way out. I have to admit I know the feeling. It is unusual for DH, though, because he can pretty much eat anything. Aww the joys of eating new foods….

I’ve just found out that the Aviation English teachers want me to give a speaking class to 35 students 2 times per week. I am supposed to start today, in one hour. When I asked for time to prepare lessons and activities, they told me that all I had to do was stand in front of the class and talk, that the students need to listen to a correct English accent. ?! How is that supposed to help them speak better English? One of the biggest problems in this school is communication problems between the Western flight instructors and the students. I wanted to prepare conversational and speaking activities for the students, but I am not sure how to go about it.

I am not sure how I feel about this. I have no preparation. I have no time to even think. I guess it will be fine, but I do not like to feel unprepared.

