Teaching English

As I mentioned before, I have a new job. I am working at an aviation academy, which is pretty cool because it is the first of its kind in China. There have never been private academies here before, mostly because there just hasn’t been a need for it. Now that China is opening up and growing economically, more people can afford to fly. So China is developing its Civil Aviation, with more domestic airliners and someday, private airplanes.

All of the students who are studying at our school will be first officers (the second in command) on airliners when they graduate. They have come from all over China to study here. They all speak English, although at very different levels. My job is to provide tutoring to students who need extra help in General English, as all the students also attend Aviation English classes with a Chinese English teacher. I am supposed to give 4 lessons per day, 5 days a week. Sounds pretty good, right? 20 hours per week. Well, there are so many students who want lessons that I am now teaching mini-classes of 3 to 4 students, instead of just one-to-one. It is a lot of work, since I don’t have any materials at all to work with. Thank god for the internet. Although it is a
little frustrating to have to develop my own coursebook & syllabus, the students make it worthwhile, as they are very motivated and sweet.

