Reflections on August 2nd

Strange things always happen on August 2nd. Today a plane crashed here in Toronto. Luckily, everyone survived, but it still looked pretty scary. I have flown a million times, but crashing is still always in the back of my mind. A friend of mine sub-let her apartment for the next couple of months to a girl from Germany who just happened to be on the flight.

Every August 2nd I also observe that this was the day, 15 years ago, when Iraqis invaded Kuwait. Has it been 15 years? WOW. Kuwait sometimes seems a million years away, and at other times it seems like yesterday. My time there, in retrospect, was a very unique time. At times happy, strange, exciting, fun and boring. It is an experience that changed my life forever – in a good way.

One Response to “Reflections on August 2nd”

  1. bashar Says:

    To me…It seems like yesterday.

Comments are closed.


