I am new and I am trying

This morning I stopped in to McDonalds to get some breakfast. I don’t normally eat at McDonald’s, but every once in a while I do get a craving for a sausage’n egg McMuffin, especially after a long 12 hour night shift. Well, a very scared looking Chinese-Canadian girl (Ahem, the China connection…) greeted me and asked in a timid manner if she could take my order. She was wearing a button that said, “I am new and I am trying.” I couldn’t help but smile. She was so cute. Completely incapable of making any sort of McDonald’s related decisions, but cute. (She kept turning to her trainer every time she had to answer a question.) And she was trying. I couldn’t help but think, “Is this how I am going to be on my first day as an English teacher?” Oh I hope my drama skills kick in. Please tell me that all those years of corny high school plays (Sir Sprout ring any bells?) and overly-dramatic college musicals will finally count for more than just GPA boosters. (Those were fun times, though.)

My new mantra will have to be: I am new and I am trying.

