I May Have a Job!

I may have a teaching job. At least I accepted one. I still have to get the visa arranged so I am not celebrating until it is all final. I would be teaching oral English in a primary school to children aged 6 to 12.

There is a lot of paperwork involved. I’ve just realized that I have only 2 empty pages left in my passport, so I must make a trip to the dreaded US Consulate to get more added in. I detest going to any US Embassy or Consulate. They always make you feel like you are a criminal. I’ve been to a couple of Spanish Embassies and they were so nice. They send DH postcards announcing things like movie nights and cultural talks. You don’t get that sort of attention from a US Embassy. You get searched and prodded and questioned and cross-examined. I understand that they have their security issues, but I still don’t get the inhumane treatment. I went the other day and was forced to stand in a long line on the sidewalk in front of the consulate in blazing 35 degree weather (100 F) with no water, (cause you can’t take anything in with you). If you dared approach the door to inquire if you were even waiting in the correct line, a security guard bellowed, “Get in the line!” I left after 30 minutes because I feared heat stroke.

I’ve shared my news with a few people at work and that is making all of this seem more real. I sort of freaked a little over the last few days. I just can’t believe how fast this is all happening. I have to pack up my whole house! I have to find a self-storage place. My mom may be flying up in a couple of weeks to drive my car back to Texas. (I guess the porsche is not enough for her, she wants my Rav4 too! 😉 ). By the end of August, just 4 weeks from now, I will be in the PR.

