Scary and Exciting

A few weeks ago DH (henceforth DH to mean Dear Hubby) applied for a job in China, more or less on a whim. I thought, oh, that’s cool and sort of forgot about it. He got replies right away and before I knew it, moving to China seemed like a plausible thing.

China?! I don’t know very much about China, and in fact, I never was all that interested. But this has happened before. I never had much interest in the Spanish language or culture, and then DH came along. Now I am fluent in Spanish and have lived in Central America and Spain. Circumstances like these just sort of pop up for me!

So I am embracing the idea. I love learning languages, and I love to travel. I am practically a gypsy. China will just be one more adventure. I’ve been to the library and checked out everything they had at my branch on China. Tour guides, travel-logues, culture books and language tapes. Ni Hao!

I’ve also learned that I can teach English in China fairly easily. I’ve already contacted two schools and they are both interested in me. I’m nervous about that because I’ve never actually taught English before.

Leaving Toronto will be hard, and that suprises me. I’ve always maintained the idea that I am not attached to any one place, but I have really made a comfortable little “nest” here in Toronto.

I love my century old house. I love the squirrels that play on my back porch. I love Kensington Market. I love the bohemia of my neighborhood and neighbors. I love the “I Deal Coffeshop” where you can get the best espresso on the planet. I love “Il Gatto Nero” pizza place. I love the “Alchemy Bakery” and their fabulous baguettes and lavender shortbread cookies. I love “Omnivore Cafe’s” strawberry mint lemonade that comes in biodegradable plastic cups. I love the Kensington Avenue vintage clothing stores and “Tutti Frutti Organic Health Food Store.” Maybe I am getting too comfortable. Maybe I love it all too much. Besides, there will be plenty to explore in China.

